Fitness

Creatine Labels, Decoded: Grams, Forms, and What a Daily Dose Costs

Creatine Labels, Decoded: Grams, Forms, and What a Daily Dose Costs

Creatine is the cheapest, most-studied ingredient on the shelf — and the most confusingly packaged. Here is how to read a creatine label, what the different forms mean, and what a daily dose actually costs when you do the arithmetic.

Some brands we cover are clients of our publisher. What we recommend is decided by our editors, and prices are read on the date noted in each article. Our standards.

Quick take: Three numbers decide whether a creatine tub is a good buy — grams of creatine per serving, servings per container, and price. Divide the last by the second and you get cost per day, which ranges from about 29 cents to well over a dollar for the same core ingredient. Powder is the cheap format; gummies and chews cost three to four times as much per serving and you are paying for convenience, not potency. Multi-form “blends” are not automatically better dosed than plain monohydrate, and some of them list less total creatine per scoop.

Why creatine labels are harder to read than they should be

Creatine sits in an unusual spot in the supplement aisle. The research base is enormous and the ingredient itself is a commodity, so brands differentiate on format, flavor, blends, and testing claims rather than on the molecule. That is where the label gets slippery: two tubs on the same shelf can both say “creatine monohydrate” in big type while one gives you 5 grams per scoop for 40 cents and the other gives you 4 grams in a blend for more.

It helps to know what the label is and is not promising. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration does not test or approve dietary supplements before they go on sale; manufacturers are responsible for their own safety and for label claims being truthful, as the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Dietary Supplements spells out in its consumer fact sheet on performance supplements. Manufacturing is covered by 21 CFR Part 111, the current good manufacturing practice rule for dietary supplements, and the FDA’s own consumer questions and answers on supplements is the plainest summary of what that does and does not cover. None of it means a third party has confirmed what is in your tub — that is a separate, voluntary step some brands pay for.

Editors’ note: This is a guide to reading labels and comparing prices, not medical advice, and nothing here is a claim that a supplement treats or prevents anything. Creatine is a dietary supplement; talk to a clinician before starting one, especially if you take medication. Every price, serving size, and container count below was read off the brand’s own live product page on September 20, 2026, and supplement pricing moves weekly. Where a page did not state a number, we left it out rather than estimate it.

How we chose what to look at

We pulled the creatine listings we could verify in full on the day of writing: a live price, a stated serving size in grams or milligrams, and a stated container count. Anything sold out was set aside — the widely stocked Bucked Up-branded creatine gummies from DAS Labs, for instance, showed $29.99 for 24 servings but every flavor was out of stock at the retailer we checked, so it is out of the comparison. Where a brand’s own site and a retailer disagreed on price, we note both instead of picking the flattering one. We did not test anything, we did not rank brands, and no product here was sent to us.

  1. Start with grams per serving, not the tub size
  2. Do the cost-per-day division
  3. Understand what the other forms buy you
  4. Gummies and chews: the convenience tax
  5. Read testing claims literally
  6. Notice what the page does not say

1. Start with grams per serving, not the tub size

Reference point: NutraBio Creatine Monohydrate Powder — $12.99 for 30 servings, $23.99 for 60, $35.99 for 100, $57.99 for 200 (unflavored); flavored 60-serving tubs $25.99.

“300 grams” on the front of a tub tells you nothing until you know the scoop. NutraBio’s page states 5 grams of micronized monohydrate per serving at a claimed 99.98% purity with no fillers, and prices in a clean ladder from 30 to 200 servings. That is the shape of label you want: dose stated, servings stated, no proprietary blend hiding the amount. The same product also sells through the recovery-and-strength retailer Supplement Xpress at $23.99 for the 300-gram, 60-serving tub — identical to the brand’s direct price today, which is worth checking rather than assuming either way.

For context on the dose itself, the International Society of Sports Nutrition’s 2021 review, “Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation”, is the single most useful free document on the subject. Read it before you spend money on a format that costs four times more per gram.

2. Do the cost-per-day division

Cheapest per serving we verified: RYSE Creatine Monohydrate — $29.99 for 100 unflavored servings ($0.30 each), $24.99 for 60 servings, $24.99 for a flavored 45-serving tub. NutraBio’s 200-serving tub works out to $0.29.

This is the whole trick, and almost nobody does it in the store. Price divided by servings:

  • NutraBio 200 servings, $57.99 — about $0.29 a day
  • RYSE 100 servings, $29.99 — about $0.30
  • RAW Nutrition Creatine Monohydrate, 100 servings, $39.99 — about $0.40; its 30-serving tub is $15.99, or about $0.53
  • RAW’s 30-count stick box, $19.99 — about $0.67

Same ingredient, more than double the daily cost between the top and bottom of that short list. The small tub is rarely the bargain it looks like; the sachets never are, unless you genuinely travel with them.

3. Understand what the other forms buy you

Blend example: MUTANT CREAKONG — $24.99 for 300 g (75 servings) or $54.99 for 1 kg (250 servings) direct; $27.99 at Supplement Xpress’s creatine shelf, marked down from $34.99. Per serving: 4 g of a three-creatine blend.

CREAKONG is a good illustration of the trade. It delivers 4 grams rather than 5, spread across three creatine sources, and the brand’s own page argues that 3–5 grams daily is the useful range and that a loading phase is not required. At $24.99 for 75 servings that is $0.33 a day — cheap — but it is 4 grams, so compare it to monohydrate on grams, not on scoops.

RYSE Loaded Creatine goes the other direction: $39.99 for 30 servings, with the label listing 4,000 mg monohydrate plus 1,500 mg of magnesium creatine chelate, 750 mg creatine HCl, 2,500 mg betaine and 450 mg of an ATP ingredient. That is $1.33 a day, roughly four times the plain-powder price, for extra ingredients you may or may not want. Neither approach is wrong; both are choices you should make knowingly.

Single-alternative-form products are the same story. Hi-Tech Pharmaceuticals Creatine HCL is $29.95 for 120 capsules direct ($29.99 at Supplement Xpress), with a suggested use of four capsules before training. And 5% Nutrition’s plain Core Creatine is $19.99 while the brand’s ten-form Crea-TEN is $37.99 — nearly double, from the same company, for a longer ingredient list.

4. Gummies and chews: the convenience tax

Format example: RAW Nutrition Creatine Gummies — $39.99 for 30 servings ($1.33 each) or $17.99 for 12 ($1.50 each), with the page stating a 5 g dose per serving. Animal Creatine Chews are $29.95 direct ($30.99 at the retailer), with the page stating 5 g per serving from four chewable tablets plus 25 mg of AstraGin.

Chewables and gummies do solve a real problem: the dose you actually take beats the dose you skip because the shaker is dirty. Just price it honestly. At $1.33 versus $0.30 a serving, the gummy is a roughly four-fold premium on a commodity ingredient. Two details on that RAW listing are worth reading closely — the page describes testing through Eurofins to verify creatine potency, and it also carries a California Proposition 65 warning for lead. Both statements are on the same page, and both are the brand’s own; we reproduce them rather than interpret them.

5. Read testing claims literally

“Lab tested,” “third-party tested,” “batch tested” and “banned-substance tested” are not synonyms, and only some of them are checkable. MUTANT states that CREAKONG is drug-tested for banned substances by Informed Choice, and is careful on its own FAQ to say that program helps reassure an athlete rather than guaranteeing an outcome — an unusually honest piece of supplement copy. NutraBio claims third-party batch testing and a purity figure. RAW cites a named laboratory. Others say “tested” with no program, no lab and no certificate.

If you compete under a sporting body’s rules, the certification program — not the adjective — is the thing to look for, and the NIH fact sheet linked above is blunt about products that have been found adulterated with unlabeled stimulants and drugs. If you do not compete, the practical value of a named program is simply that somebody outside the company looked.

6. Notice what the page does not say

The most useful habit is negative: check which of the three numbers is missing. A capsule listing that states a suggested use of four capsules but does not state the creatine per capsule in the page text leaves you unable to compute a daily dose or a daily cost — Hi-Tech’s HCL page is an example, with its supplement facts panel presented as an image rather than text. Blend products that publish a flavor list but not a serving count have the same problem. We dropped several listings from this piece for exactly that reason.

Three questions, then, before you pay: How many grams of creatine per serving? How many servings in the container? And what did the page actually say about testing? If a label cannot answer all three, the tub next to it probably can.

More on our process in how we choose, how we test and our corrections policy. Prices read September 20, 2026, and subject to change.

About the author

We Vibe Better

Reporting and buying advice from the We Vibe Better editorial desk.

Related Reading

The Weekly Edit

Better finds, once a week.

A short, useful email: what we tested, what earned a place in our lives, and what to skip. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.