Supplements

How To Read a Supplement Label in 30 Seconds

How To Read a Supplement Label in 30 Seconds

A Supplement Facts panel is a legal document pretending to be packaging. Here is how to read one in about thirty seconds — what the numbers mean, which words are regulated, and which seals are worth anything — checked against the current federal rules on September 8, 2026.

Some brands we cover are clients of our publisher. What we recommend is decided by our editors, and prices are read on the date noted in each article. Our standards.

The quick take

  • Read the panel bottom-up. The “other ingredients” line and the serving size tell you more about a product than the marketing on the front.
  • “Serving size” is the unit of every claim. A dose printed as three capsules is a third of the label number per capsule.
  • Structure/function claims are legal and unreviewed. “Supports healthy immune function” is allowed because it does not name a disease — it is not evidence of anything, and the asterisked disclaimer is the tell.
  • Only third-party seals mean testing. USP, NSF and Informed Sport audit and test. “Lab tested” printed on a box means nothing at all.

The dietary supplement aisle is the only part of a grocery store where the product is regulated more like a food than a drug and marketed more like a drug than a food. That gap is where confusion lives. Nothing on a supplement label needs pre-market approval from the Food and Drug Administration the way a new pharmaceutical does. What the label does need is to follow a specific, surprisingly detailed set of formatting rules — and once you know what those rules force a manufacturer to disclose, a bottle becomes much easier to judge in the ten seconds you are standing in front of it.

Editors’ note. This piece features no products and no brands we sell against. We have not tested any supplement in a laboratory and do not claim to. The regulatory descriptions here were read on September 8, 2026 from primary sources — 21 CFR 101.36 and the FDA’s Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide — and rules change. Nothing here is medical advice; talk to a clinician before starting or stopping anything, particularly if you take prescription medication. See how we choose and our corrections policy.

How we approached this

We wanted a scan that works in a store, not a research protocol. So we started from the question of what a label is legally obliged to tell you, on the theory that mandatory disclosure is more informative than voluntary marketing. Three sources set that floor: the labeling regulation itself, which dictates what the Supplement Facts panel must contain and in what order; the FDA’s labeling guide, which is written as plain-language questions and answers for manufacturers; and the National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements fact sheets, which are the neutral reference for what a given nutrient does and what intake ranges look like.

We then looked at how claims are policed, because that determines which sentences on a box carry weight. The Federal Trade Commission’s health products compliance guidance is the document that governs advertising claims, and it is stricter than most shoppers assume — it just operates after the fact rather than before sale.

Finally, we separated the seals. There are a handful of certification programs with published standards and public product lists, and a much larger number of phrases designed to look like certifications. Knowing which is which is most of the skill.

The 30-second scan

  1. Serving size and servings per container — the denominator for everything else
  2. Amount per serving and % Daily Value — including what a missing DV means
  3. Proprietary blends — where doses go to hide
  4. Other ingredients — fillers, allergens, capsule material
  5. The claim and the disclaimer — which words are regulated
  6. Seals and certifications — the three that mean testing
  7. Manufacturer name, address and lot — the accountability line

Reading the panel

1. Serving size and servings per container

Start at the top of the Supplement Facts panel, not the front of the box. The serving size is the unit in which every other number on the panel is expressed, and it is chosen by the manufacturer, not standardised across a category. A magnesium product advertising 400 mg may deliver that in one tablet or in four capsules; the second is a very different product to live with, and often a very different cost per day.

Servings per container is the arithmetic that turns a shelf price into a daily price. Divide, then compare: a jar that looks expensive next to its neighbour is frequently cheaper per serving, and the front of the package will never do that sum for you.

2. Amount per serving and % Daily Value

The regulation requires the quantitative amount of each dietary ingredient, plus a percent Daily Value where one has been established. That second part is the useful subtlety: a great many popular ingredients have no established Daily Value at all, and the panel marks them with a dagger and a footnote reading that the daily value is not established. That is not a warning — it is a statement that no reference intake exists. Herbal extracts, botanicals, amino acids and most of the newer wellness ingredients sit in this category.

Where a Daily Value does exist, look for numbers far above 100%. High multiples are common and sometimes deliberate, but the fat-soluble vitamins and several minerals have upper intake levels worth knowing before you stack two products that both contain them. The NIH fact sheets list those upper limits for each nutrient in one place, which is why they are the single best bookmark in this whole subject.

3. Proprietary blends

A proprietary blend is a permitted way to declare several ingredients under one total weight, listing the components in descending order without individual amounts. It is legal, it is sometimes a genuine formulation secret, and it is also the single most reliable place on a label for a small dose to hide. If a 2,000 mg blend lists twelve botanicals, the twelfth could be present in a quantity closer to decoration than dose, and nothing on the panel will tell you which.

The practical rule: if a blend contains the ingredient you are buying the product for, and its individual amount is not disclosed, treat the product as unquantified. Plenty of brands now break out every dose specifically because shoppers learned this. Pure Encapsulations and Klean Athlete, for instance, both build their positioning around fully disclosed formulas, and single-ingredient products such as a plain creatine monohydrate — the format Momentous sells as a 90-serving tub — sidestep the question entirely.

4. “Other ingredients”

Directly beneath the panel sits the line most shoppers never read: everything in the product that is not a dietary ingredient. Capsule material (gelatin versus hypromellose, which decides whether the product is vegetarian), flow agents, sweeteners, colours, and the allergen statement all live here. If you avoid a specific additive, this is the only line that answers the question.

It is also where “clean label” marketing gets checked. A product fronted with the word pure and an other-ingredients list six items long is not lying, exactly, but the two statements are not in agreement. And for anything oil-based — fish oil especially — the same line often carries the tocopherol antioxidant that keeps it from oxidising, which is a feature rather than a flaw. Nordic Naturals and other omega-3 specialists publish freshness and oxidation figures separately from the panel; if that data exists, it will be on the brand’s own quality page, not the bottle.

5. The claim and the disclaimer

Three kinds of statement appear on supplement packaging, and only one of them is common. Structure/function claims describe an effect on the body’s structure or function — supports, helps maintain, promotes — and may be used without FDA review, provided the manufacturer notifies the agency and prints the standard disclaimer that the statement has not been evaluated by the FDA and the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. That asterisked sentence is the single most informative piece of small print on the box: it marks the claim above it as unreviewed.

Nutrient content claims (“high in”, “excellent source of”) are defined quantitatively and are checkable against the panel. Disease claims — that a product treats or prevents a named condition — are not permitted on a supplement, full stop. A label making one is not a bold brand; it is a non-compliant one, and the FTC’s advertising guidance treats the surrounding marketing with the same seriousness.

6. Seals and certifications

Because the government does not test products before sale, third-party verification is where independent scrutiny actually happens — and only a few programs qualify. The USP Dietary Supplement Verification Program audits manufacturing sites and tests products for ingredient identity, potency and contaminants; USP’s own materials cite its Verified Mark as the seal healthcare practitioners most recommend to patients. NSF certifies supplements and vitamins against its public standard, and its sport program screens for banned substances lot by lot, as does Informed Sport, whose model is exactly that: certification tied to tested batches rather than to a brand as a whole.

What these have in common is a published standard and a searchable list of certified products. That is the test to apply to any seal you do not recognise: can you look the product up on the certifier’s site? ConsumerLab operates differently again, as an independent subscription testing service that buys products off the shelf, which makes it useful precisely because participation is not voluntary.

Everything else in seal-shaped clothing — “third-party tested”, “lab verified”, “GMP” printed as a badge — is an unverifiable assertion. Good manufacturing practice is a legal requirement for all supplement makers, not an achievement, and trade groups such as the American Herbal Products Association are industry associations rather than certifiers. Mainstream lines including Nature Made do carry genuine USP verification on many products; the point is to confirm the seal in the certifier’s database rather than trust its presence on a carton.

7. Manufacturer name, address and lot code

The label must identify the manufacturer, packer or distributor with a place of business, and that is the accountability line. A brand you can contact, with a lot number and a best-by date printed on the bottle, is a brand that can issue a recall and answer a question about a specific batch. It is unglamorous and it is the last thing to check before you buy.

Two habits finish the scan. If a product is for a specific outcome, verify the ingredient and dose against an NIH fact sheet before the brand’s own page. And if you take prescription medication, check interactions with a pharmacist — supplement–drug interactions are real and are not disclosed on the panel.

The short version

Serving size sets the maths. Missing Daily Values mean no reference intake exists, not that something is wrong. Proprietary blends hide doses. “Other ingredients” answers the questions marketing avoids. The FDA disclaimer marks a claim as unreviewed. And a seal only counts if you can find the product in the certifier’s own list. Thirty seconds, seven lines, and most of the aisle sorts itself.

About the author

We Vibe Better

Reporting and buying advice from the We Vibe Better editorial desk.

Related Reading

The Weekly Edit

Better finds, once a week.

A short, useful email: what we tested, what earned a place in our lives, and what to skip. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.